Armenia Elected to UNESCO’s Committee for Safeguarding Cultural Heritage


imgresPARIS (Armenpress) — The 6th session of the General Conference of the states that have joint the “Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage 2003” took place at the United Nations Organization for Education, Science and Culture (UNESCO) headquarters on May 30- June 1 during which the election of the Intergovernmental Committee for 2016-2020 were held.

Armenia was elected from the Second Electoral Regional Group (Eastern European countries), receiving a unanimous vote.

Cyprus, Austria, Guatemala, Colombia, Cuba, the Philippines, Zambia, Senegal, Mauritius, Palestine and Lebanon were elected from the other electoral groups.

The Intergovernmental Committee is one of the key bodies of the Convention. It was set in accordance with the 5th article of the Convention and has 24 members. The core functions of the Intergovernmental Committee for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage are to promote the objectives of the Convention, provide guidance on best practices and make recommendations on measures for the safeguarding of the intangible cultural heritage.

The Committee will further examine requests submitted by States Parties for the inscription of intangible heritage on the Lists as well as proposals for programs and projects. The Committee is also in charge of granting international assistance.

Get the Mirror in your inbox:
Get the Mirror-Spectator Weekly in your inbox: