Assembly Board Member Annie Totah to Receive Ellis Island Award


WASHINGTON — Annie Totah, a longtime member of the Armenian Assembly’s Board and past Chairperson, will receive the 2010 Ellis Island Medal of Honor, announced the Armenian Assembly of America.

“Annie is a dynamic, energetic and remarkable individual,” stated the
Assembly’s Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Hirair Hovnanian. “Annie’s dedication and leadership has been exemplary. On behalf of the Board of Trustees, I congratulate Annie on being selected to receive this distinguished honor,” Hovnanian added.

Throughout her many years of outstanding service on the Assembly’s Board, Annie spearheaded many important initiatives, including the Assembly’s “Missions to Armenia,” and numerous National Advocacy Conferences and Galas, while effectively advocating with the Congress
and Administration to secure robust U.S. assistance to Armenia and Nagorno Karabagh, fighting for affirmation of the Armenian Genocide and maintaining Section 907 of the Freedom Support Act.

“It is with a great sense of humility that I accept the Ellis Island Medal of Honor,” stated Totah. “I am grateful to my family and friends who have supported me throughout the decades as I pursued causes near and dear to my heart. I am particularly proud of the many accomplishments of the Armenian Assembly and am fortunate to be part of such a dedicated group
of individuals, who work tirelessly for the betterment of the Armenian people and nation,” added Totah.

Established in 1986 by the National Ethnic Coalition of Organizations (NECO), the Ellis Island Medal of Honor celebrates the richness and diversity of American life and pays tribute to the ancestry groups
that comprise America’s unique cultural mosaic. Past Medalists include six Presidents, as well as Nobel Prize winners and leaders of industry, education, the arts, sports and government.

Recognized by the United States Senate and House of Representatives, the Ellis Island Medal recipients are also read into the Congressional Record.
The 2010 recipients also include Adrienne G. Alexanian, Kevork D. Atinizian, Sarkis Bedevian and Vartkes B. Yeghiayan.

Get the Mirror in your inbox:

Get the Mirror-Spectator Weekly in your inbox: