Argentina’s Catamarca Province Recognizes Armenian Genocide


220px-pucara_santamariaBUENOS AIRES (Prensa Armenia) — The province of Catamarca, Argentina, on Friday, September 16 joined the National Law 26,199 declaring April 24 every year as the “Day of Action for Tolerance and Respect between Peoples” in commemoration of the Armenian Genocide.

“The breakthrough that led to the Law was ratified in Catamarca and demonstrates the national and federal perspective acquired in Argentina in the struggle against denial,” said Nicolas Sabuncuyan, director of the Armenian National Committee of Buenos Aires.

Article 4 of Law 26,199, enacted on December 13, 2006 and promulgated on January 15, 2007, invites provincial governments to “adhere to the provisions,” something that has already been done by 17 Argentine provinces along with the City of Buenos Aires.

The provinces that have already joined the National Law are Buenos Aires, Catamarca, Chaco, Chubut, Córdoba, Corrientes, Entre Rios, Jujuy, La Pampa, Mendoza, Misiones, Neuquen, Rio Negro, Salta, San Juan, Santa Cruz, Santa Fe, Santiago del Estero and Tierra del Fuego.


Get the Mirror in your inbox:
Get the Mirror-Spectator Weekly in your inbox: