Mihran Hoplamazian Named Man of the Year of Armenian Community of Detroit


By Pam Coultis

DETROIT — On Saturday, April 14, the Tekeyan Cultural Association (TCA) and the Armenian Democratic Liberal party (ADL) Detroit Chapters hosted their annual fundraiser at the St. John Armenian Church Cultural Hall. The theme for this year was two-fold: celebrating 20 years of Tekeyan’s cultural and educational mission in Armenia and honoring as “Man of the Year” Mihran Hoplamazian for his steadfast support of the Armenian Church, the AGBU School and numerous educational and cultural programs.
The evening began with cocktails and mezza. Spirits were high as guests mingled and congratulated Hoplamazian, his wife, Gayle, and their children.
Dinner began with an opening prayer by Rev. Garabed Kochakian. Music by violinist Harry Hovagimian accompanied dinner and had many guests humming along with the familiar Armenian melodies sweetly resonating throughout the hall.
The program began with opening remarks by Doug Smith including a brief history of the TCA. Edmond Azadian followed with a moving tribute to Hoplamazian, acknowledging his years of service to the metro-Detroit Armenian community. Ending the program, Hoplamazian thanked everyone present for attending and Tekeyan for the tribute. He spoke of his father and mother’s great love for this country, their devotion to family and how their example set the course for his life.
A musical interlude by vocalist (and deacon) Rubik Mailian, accompanied on the piano by Margaret Lafian, included Armenian folk and patriotic songs bringing guests to their feet with applause.
Event co-chair and ADL chair, Hagop Alexanian, took a moment to thank the committee for their hard work and their continuing commitment to all things Armenian.
These fundraisers provide funds to support four schools in Armenia and one in Karabagh for its “Sponsor a Teacher” program as well support for the Orphans Higher Education Fund. In keeping with their cultural mission, this year a part of the proceeds were earmarked for the St. John Armenian Church Gomidas Choir.
The 2012 Tekeyan/ADL Committee members are Nora Azadian, Edmond Azadian, Ara Belian, Hagop Alexanian, Diana Alexanian, Mike Arzoumanian, Sebouh Avedikian, Zabel Belian, Barbara Haroutunian, Karen Koundjakian, Suzanne Nazoyan, Marina Papasian, Hagop Minassian and Dr. Gary Zamanigian.

Get the Mirror in your inbox:
Get the Mirror-Spectator Weekly in your inbox: